Skip to content

Go Dog Go

January 16, 2012

Last  Wednesday we went to the hospital.  The front office staff was all new. They had to ask our name!

 

THEY HAD TO ASK OUR NAME!!!!

 

Isa’s counts are low normal on most things, and still just about 10k short on platelets. Her spleen shrinks each time we go.   NO BIG NEWS!

 

Each time we go, I feel nervous.  A small sense of dread.  This time, however, I didn’t even take the Bag of Fun, so although I was nervous, I didn’t plan to stay all day.  After the hospital we went on a field trip to a museum!  WOW.. an outing!

I just realized that I didn’t even post about her diagnoseversary.  January 14, 2009.  I remember it very clearly.  GG even said that she remembers Isa getting her x-rays.  Isa says she remembers getting poked.

How far we’ve come, and I look forward to how far this intense child and I will go. And today, my little cancer survivor read Go Dog Go to me.  What a fantastic day today is!   And maybe, just maybe,  we’ll find the tree with the dog party.  The big dog party!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Quinn's mama permalink
    January 19, 2012 12:18 am

    Wait! ISA can read? Dude i can’t get quinn to stay still long enough. She keeps telling me she is sick and tired of sitting all the time. She just wants to go outside and go to lots of parties!!!!! Gee, after three years of being weak, sick, and in isolation I can’t blame her. I figure by next year after she gets bored from her endless social calendar I might push the sitting still again. Hum mm now you are making me feel bad. Either way off treatment life rocks!

    Is ISA in kindergarten? Quinn is and we have had a cold and cough since last April. Oh well better than cancer.

    • January 23, 2012 2:21 am

      Oh holy crap, I’ve been thinking of you. Glad you felt the vibes man!

      We homeschool, so Isa is in First Grade. And she taught herself to read using Hooked on Phonics. So I am good with that. (Of course I helped her a lot!) We don’t sit much, we do some. But Isa has teh benefit of an older sib who reads and makes it look fun!

      We’ve avoided some colds and stuff, but were dealing with the fat spleen. It seems to be going down, but I freak at any bruise or warm forehead. It will get better I tell myself. Unless I will still be feeling her forehead when she’s 18. I suppose it is possible.

      Hope the new place is treating you well. Hugs

  2. January 16, 2012 9:54 pm

    Love updates from you guys. We are still deep in frontline treatment so it is just wonderful to get a glimpse of the big, exciting world beyond treatment. Today, with an ANC of 300 and a Hgb of 7.2, a museum trip seems soooooo far away – we can’t wait! 🙂

    • January 18, 2012 2:20 am

      And the real reason why I keep blogging has been revealed. Thanks Georgia. All I wanted when I was where you are right now is to have some idea of what happened after treatment. I ended up reading a lot about kids that crossed over because their parents wrote! The others disappeared somewhere in Long Term Maintenance.

Leave a Reply

