Skip to content

Too Many Views

October 20, 2011

Each day  I check my blog stats. Just in case I have a comment I need to moderate. Each day I am struck that I have had someone view the blog. That is too many views.  One view could mean that well-meaning friends are dropping by. But I can also see the search engine terms that got them to me.

Search Views
peg asparaginase 2
leukemia blogs 1
blogs about childhood leukemia 1
pediatric cancer month?? 1
interim maintenance i leukemia 1
leukemia 1
port for blood transfusions look like 1
leukemia blog 1
childhood leukemia blog

Does anyone notice anything.  People searching for information about leukemia. I hate that. This means that kids out there are still getting diagnosed with leukemia. That means that even though I am not watching them go through all their treatments. They are still getting leukemia. And I also hate that.

Thanks to WordPress for offering people like us the ability to share our stories for free. And to search engines that help those that need us find us.  Thanks for the words that come to help me convey, as best I can, what it means for a child to have leukemia.

Too many views on my blog means that too many parents are searching for information to help their children survive.

Thanks for reading.

 

For those of you who don’t read comments.  I received an incredibly special comment that I wanted to make sure that no one missed.

I have been following your blog for about a year now and the is exactly how and why I came across your blog. There is so much scary information out there that it was nice to find another parent’s perspective, it made it feel more human for me. Thank you for having the courage to write this all down for the world to see, you have no idea how much it means to a cancer mom like me. My brain has been so scrambled since my daughter was diagnosed that I couldn’t possibly articulate the journey in writing on a regular basis. This past month’s appointment(LP month) I sat in the waiting room feeling so sad because the room was filled with new faces, it still brings a lump to my throat, and unfortunately there are worse things than Leukemia. This month I met a teenage boy with an inoperable brain tumor, a 2 year old with leukemia, and a baby with a stomach tumor. There were a few more new faces but I didn’t have the courage to hear their stories, I felt drained and weepy.
Again, THANK YOU for writing this blog.

Today, these searches lead other to us:  I have no idea why anyone would search Dirty Family Camping.  But the rest show what people need to know, or maybe want to know.

isa leukemia 5
do children with leukemia have purple circles under eyes? 3
low anc in childhood leukemia 3
blog about children leukemia 2
dirty family camping 2
blogs from mothers whose children are on methotrexate for 1
peg asparginase 1
leukemia blog child 1
leukemia life 1
child’s hair falling out again in maintenance of leukemia 1
getting a lumbar puncture 1
delayed intensification leukemia
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    February 8, 2012 3:21 pm

    Hey, just saw this on your blog. I think sometimes people are just looking for hope. You and I both can testify that our daughters are just that. Hope and inspiration for people. God Bless you all!!

    Laura

    Hannah’s mom

    • February 10, 2012 8:35 pm

      Laura:

      I know! Hannah is amazing, and so is Isa. Still I realize the possibilities. Thanks for posting.

  2. Ana Rodriguez permalink
    October 20, 2011 8:52 am

    I have been following your blog for about a year now and the is exactly how and why I came across your blog. There is so much scary information out there that it was nice to find another parent’s perspective, it made it feel more human for me. Thank you for having the courage to write this all down for the world to see, you have no idea how much it means to a cancer mom like me. My brain has been so scrambled since my daughter was diagnosed that I couldn’t possibly articulate the journey in writing on a regular basis. This past month’s appointment(LP month) I sat in the waiting room feeling so sad because the room was filled with new faces, it still brings a lump to my throat, and unfortunately there are worse things than Leukemia. This month I met a teenage boy with an inoperable brain tumor, a 2 year old with leukemia, and a baby with a stomach tumor. There were a few more new faces but I didn’t have the courage to hear their stories, I felt drained and weepy.
    Again, THANK YOU for writing this blog.

Leave a Reply

