Skip to content

Splenomegaly

April 4, 2011

Isa’s spleen is enlarged again.  Her belly has the appearance of a dex belly, all bloated and distended. Sunday night I palpated her left and right sides.  On her left side I felt the firmness that indicates her spleen. Deep breath, deep breath. Okay, now what?

Monday I called the oncologists and was told we need to get blood work. Just for safe measure I took Isa to her local pediatrician for confirmation that the spleen was enlarged. Yes, three centimeters. And Isa had lost two kilos since our last treatment in March. (I am pretending that this is due to scale difference!)

The blood work is ordered and will be processed tomorrow. We didn’t get the labs done before the close of the hem/onc department. So, tonight I am left wondering if I give her the regular dosage. Regular isn’t exactly the correct word considering she is at 50% dosage now.  Maybe I’ll just skip it tonight. I can always give it to her tmw after the labs come back. She is bruising easily again. Her doctor found several older bruises plus a couple of new ones.

We will know more tomorrow after labs. Check the tweets on the side of this or at twitter.com for quick updates.

Thanks again for reading!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Ann Brown permalink
    April 5, 2011 9:35 pm

    Ugh. And that’s an understatement. Prayers, good thoughts, kharma, everything one can think of, for good labs tomorrow.

    Your little Isa is worrying me. And now I’m probably worrying you. Hopefully needlessly.

    Let us know what the labs say. Thinking of you.

    Ann (and Elke)

  2. April 5, 2011 4:26 pm

    Poor Isa! May just can’t come soon enough.

  3. Ana Rodriguez permalink
    April 5, 2011 9:04 am

    Don’t they have an on-call oncologist for you to ask these questions to day or night? If I ever have any problems during the day I page the nurse assigned to Eva’s case and she calls me back right away and either helps me out herself or speaks to the oncologist for me. If it’s after hours I call the hospital and ask for the on-call oncologist. I can’t believe they left you wondering all night about her counts and her meds!!! I would have had a melt down! I hope everything goes well and that this is a minor blip that will go away quickly.

    My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Leave a Reply

