Skip to content

Forgotten in Clinic

November 10, 2009

Okay it sort of felt like that …

Isa was accessed without event, and she got her meds, I scrupulously checked the dosages.  PARENTS… figure out your kids doses. The nurses sometimes order them wrong and you won’t know it unless you follow the protocol and figure out the m².  Using metric measurements  h X w ÷ 3600 then find the square root of that number.   The protocol that you’re on will have the correct amounts for your child using the number that you get from that formula.

No I don’t do the math, my husband does.  BUT… today, I knew that 15mg dose of Doxorubicin was correct considering she has gained nearly 2 kg!  But I also knew that the 2 and 1/2 tabs I was supposed to be giving her was WRONG.  Yes, the doctors/nurse practitioners wrote the prescription wrong!   IF I HAD NOT BEEN PAYING ATTENTION SHE WOULD HAVE BEEN TAKING 10 MG PER DAY INSTEAD OF 6MG.  Maybe this isn’ t enough to mess her up. BUT then again maybe it is.

She received no presents from today from Mama and Papa. She will get a big party on the 11th. But we did take her to Vietnamese food for some Pho.  The steroids do something wonderful to the formerly skinny child, but it is so strange to see it happen.

Thanks for reading.

Love and light,

DMM

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 14, 2009 9:32 pm

    I’m so thankful you are so diligent in taking care of her.

  2. Quinn's mama permalink
    November 13, 2009 2:40 pm

    Hope the party was wonderful. Isa has earned a fun filled day. Hats off to DMM for keeping those math skills up to date, and paying attention to every fine detail. Hard to do after a long day at the clinic.

    Our hospital once put another kids id bracelet on Quinn. Had we not noticed I wonder what chemo she would have gotten that day????

    Who knew that when your kid got cancer you had to become an expert in nursing, pharmaceutials, math converstions, short order cook, etc.

    Hope the party rocked!

  3. November 10, 2009 10:04 pm

    You know, I needed this kick in the seat of my pants re asking to see dosages. I try to stay on top of everything, but it’s occurred to me that I never ask about the chemo dosages at clinic (except whether they’re being given 100%, or 50% dose, etc., but 50% of what?? Good question!). I will ask (and they will love me oh-so-much more at clinic…).

    Happy Birthday Isa!

  4. November 10, 2009 7:10 am

    hey mate…i hope you guys are doing ok…hospital is a harsh place, i’m in right down…i only just came across your blog but I am keen to give it a read….

    Take care guys
    PeGsOn

Leave a Reply

