Skip to content

Candles **UPDATED**

October 5, 2009

Found this little  paragraph on Sammie’s website.

Children with cancer are like candles in the wind who accept the possibility that they are in danger of being extinguished by a gust of wind from nowhere and yet, they flicker and dance to remain alive, their brilliance challenges the darkness and dazzles those of us who watch their light.

Really, I havne’t meant for all these posts to be sad. But, I guess I am just hitting the sad parts. The happy parts are simply lived. Like coloring apicture with Isa today, or seeing her in the backyard in her jammies. Just stuff like that. Sorry for not sharing that with you.

UPDATE: Sammie crossed over today, October 9th 2009, 3 am her time. Thank you to Sammie for being here and being a part of our lives, however briefly.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 8:46 pm

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest. I am stopping by from SITS and spent most my evening reading Isa’s story. I follow many children in our area through caringbridge and CURESEARCH. Your family is so strong and the post from Sept about your husband and his brother sent chills down my spine and I thought of the families I know and the “other children” in the families. They must suffer deeper than we imagine. Thanks for sharing.

    • October 10, 2009 10:54 pm

      I hope that you enjoyed the writing. So many Saturday evenings since January I’ve sat to read an entire blog about a kid and family. The interesting thing, is that each child in a family can be affected differently. The main thing to remember… each one has his own experience and it is not necessarily apparent to the rest of the family.

      Thanks for reading.

  2. October 10, 2009 6:20 pm

    If the upbeat and happy times are happening with her in your “real” life, it is fine to come here and vent the harder times and feelings. Whatever is working for you. I’m here from SITS, and I will be praying for you and your family.

  3. Quinn's mama permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:56 pm

    Yup, I hit those low points too. Stupid cancer rollercoaster ride. A wise woman told me to breathe. Or there is always wine and cookies.

  4. alt permalink
    October 5, 2009 11:32 pm

    No apologies from you my dear. You are watching her light shine rather than writing about it. She has such a brilliant light, how could you not be in awe? xoxo

  5. Natascha Howe permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:11 am

    what a beautiful saying… I know you are ‘supposed’ to be upbeat and positive. but you know what, at this point, do what makes you feel normal. that’s a realitve word. however, you are certainly entitled to feel sad. everytime i read your posts, I’m astounded at how you seem to take so much in stride. and yet I sit here and cry over what you are going through. You are so strong, I don’t think I could do it.

    It’s so very difficult as parents to see our children suffer. Whether it’s cancer or any other form of hurt.

    Sending you love and positive thoughts….

Leave a Reply

