Skip to content

Monday

September 14, 2009

Still reading about other cancer kids. Seems like I find a new one everyday.

We will be heading South for a few days, and while I am still up working on packing, ie laundry, i have a little tiny bald shadow. She is sitting next to me working on her computer too.  If I weren’t so irritated at her for still being awake at 1AM, I’d find it incredibly cute.  Okay, I do still find it cute.

She has felt a little warm but when I tested her temp it was in the 37.4 range. A little high  but nothing to worry about. Her appetite is still short of where I’d like to see it. And only very tiny tiny hairs are on her head. Whatever she gains here will be lost again in the next Delayed Intensificaton anyway.

She and Gg have been working on learning their letters and numbers and overall enjoying time with Mama and Papa.  This phase is a good one for not getting so wrapped up in treatments, hospital visits and the like.  Someone posted recently that chronic health issues have a sort of new normal to them. And it is true. This feels normal to us now.

Thanks for reading.

DMM

3 Comments leave one →
  1. alt permalink
    September 16, 2009 8:02 am

    love & miss you all. xoxoxoxoxo

  2. Quinn's mama permalink
    September 16, 2009 2:27 am

    Hi DMM. So I really liked your last entry so I totally lifted part of it due to tirdness and lazyness. I tried to give you a shout out but the quote from T’s dad was just too heartbreaking and honest so I shared it as well. I read the families last six months of entries. It gave me too much to think about. I hope you do not mind, if so you can give me a good stern talkin to the way only DMM can:)

    I am also not very happy with the lack of food Quinn eats and she is in LTM. We need a boys football team to feed with all the food we through away.

    • September 16, 2009 11:25 am

      Saw your post first then saw this comment!!! Ha, of course, spread the word. I usually just link in and never ask. The FREAKY thing is that I see this family at clinic. It touches the heart much more to “see” it. Rather than read about it and have it at arms length.

Leave a Reply

