Skip to content

4 Days To Go

August 24, 2009

Okay, basically we are done with DI, but it isn’t officially over until she starts the next phase on Thursday.  I made the commitment to update daily throughout this intensive treatment phase, to keep family informed, and for myself, to document our time, but also to make a commitment to the blog.  Even though the topic was a little macabre it was one that drew interest and was in some ways easy to write about.

That being said, we are entering a phase that I hope to be less intense and exciting. Therefore I will only be updating twice a week. Last time her chemotherapy sessions were on Mondays and Thursdays so those two days seem like good days to update everyone. Also, if we do something incredibly fun then I could pop in a bonus post.

Isa has finally recovered from her weakest time this phase. I have no bloodwork to prove it and sometimes she fools us, but she is running and playing and laughing. Ideally, we want her counts to be at 750 ANC and 75k platelets so she can start the next phase on time.

Thanks for all your prayers, emotional and physical support. All of it has been appreciated.

uh, so I wrote this yesterday, but forgot to post it…. uh, brain cells dying….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 5:42 pm

    I’m amazed you’ve kept up with it. Way to go for Isa to be done with DI!!! We’re mid-cycle with a week off right now. However, I think we may be in store for blood tomorrow. I’ll be thinking neutrophils and platelets for both our kiddos. Smooches to your two Princesses.

    (I don’t know how Al didn’t get a fever. Maybe her subconscious knew that I couldn’t go to the ER with her? I couldn’t have driven.)

    • cheflucien permalink
      August 24, 2009 5:48 pm

      Yes, you are just waiting for the BIG day at clinic. What would we do without Cytoxan? That is the worst part about being sick, the family seems to keep going, but nothing gets done.

Leave a Reply

