Skip to content

6 Days More

August 21, 2009

We’re still at home. And by that I mean only at home. Isa wants to eat bananas with the peels and salad, BUT she can’t. I suppose the doctors worry that if a bacteria or virus is living on the surface that  it could grow inside of her. When the ANC is lower than 500 she can’t eat any raw fruits and veggies.

We asked the practitioner, yesterday, about going to the Mug ‘N’ Bun. She said sure, so we sat in the car eating burgers, corndogs, hamburgers, fries and onion rings. And of course ROOT BEER. It tasted so good. Nothing better than a serving(or more)  full of fat and sugar.  Luckily we won’t be doing that too frequently. Isn’t it  funny that she can have no fresh food and yet, this deep-fat-fried food is perfectly fine?

For some reason, the girls want to be on me, or just beside me. Do all parents have this problem with this age group?  Finally I tricked them by going into their room and started playing with something. They followed me, of course, and wanted to play too. So I turned it over to them and left!  It worked for as long as it took me to type this page. I just had to go do it again.   Wait, the door is shut, I better get this published and get to my book before they start screaming.  And  wait, the door opened and Gg announced that they were cleaning up their room.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 23, 2009 7:53 pm

    It is odd how they can have as much fried goodness as they want….and boy does Ezra want it especially on Dex. We start DI very soon I think we are on day 31 or so of IM. I am glad to see that Isa got through most of it with little problems, I can only hope the same for Ez.!

    • August 23, 2009 8:41 pm

      He will, he will. I wish there was a key thing you could do. BUT, I’d say the best thing is to plan on a trip to the hospital and just go with the flow. Expect a fever, and transfusions. And hope for no hospitalizations, you had enough of that during Induction!

  2. Natascha Howe permalink
    August 22, 2009 7:06 am

    I think the ‘deep fried’ tends to kill all the bacteria in the food making it ‘safer’. Isnt’ that a hoot…. We call that ‘comfort food’.

    And yes, they tend to cling at that age. It lessens when they are in school and have a more social group they hang out with….That’s when you’ll miss it. Then it only happens when they are sick and you love to have them cuddle yet you don’t want them ill. It’s a terrible process for parents.

    Enjoy the solitude when you get it now.

Leave a Reply

