Skip to content

Day 42. The Answer to Life.

August 12, 2009

The answer to life will only make sense to those who have read The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

But, to us it sort of was an answer, because we came home. Isa must have impressed the docs. NO, she just didn’t grow any cultures, had no fever and her ANC went up to 62. Whoa, still no fruit or raw vegies, still no museums, zoos or playgrounds, no visitors and no grocery store. But she got to come home.

Today Isa learned how to push the IV pole herself. At first it seemed like a good idea, but it ended up like, well, watch the video. The blue bands on her legs indicate that she has no known allergies—one from clinic and one from ER.  Listen closely you to hear Isa telling Gg to be careful. I love it when they are sweet to each other.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 10:10 am

    That is so cute! Kayla likes to ride on her IV machine when we go to the playroom. The nurses don’t like when she does it unless I am the one holding on. duh.

    Yeah the whole spinal tap thing, very surreal. Other people don’t know what the feeling is unless they have been there.
    Kayla has an adverse reaction to Versed. She becomes what we call “the exorcist.”
    The only time that she had it she flipped out. It was after her initial diagnosis and she was still in the hospital and they had just finished her spinal. We took her back to her room and told her that she had to lay down for 30 minutes. Oh boy did she flip out! All of a sudden she was screaming and stripping the sheets off of her bed. I told her that if she didn’t stop that I was going to leave the room.
    (I had no idea that she was having a reaction, I thought that she was just pissed)
    So her nurse came in and a bunch of other nurses and I stepped out of the room. I could hear her nurse saying “Stop hitting! No! Stop biting! No kicking!”
    I have never seen a nurse move as fast as the one that went to go get the shot that reversed the effects of versed.
    We use Ativan and Fentanyl.
    I will talk to him about the morphine though, but if it puts her to sleep it takes about 2 more hours to get out of there. B/c of monitoring and she has to wake up and be alert before we can leave.

    • August 13, 2009 10:20 am

      Lumbar punctures are strange, bone marrows are tragic, and chemo/transfusions are the norm. Every time I say Spinal Tap, I think of the movie, so I try to avoid saying it.

      Basically, fentanyl is similar I guess, we just reduced the dose, so she wakes up a LOT faster. Early on I talked about discipline and cancer. It is like walking this very strange line. Is it her personality, her misbehaving, or some medicine making her depressed or angry. So impossible to tell what is what. Sometimes getting a time-out when she should be hugged, and vice-versa. Also, saw something on Hope4Peyton, that they used some virtual reality glasses or something.

  2. August 13, 2009 9:26 am

    Yay! That made my day! That’s the best.

  3. August 13, 2009 8:11 am

    Huzzah! Home = Joy

    Glad you liked the Trinity reference. For our family and where we are right now it’s a spot on description. Just as Holy, if you’ll excuse my blasphemy.

    Smooches to Miss Isa!

    • August 13, 2009 10:10 am

      You’re excused. The doctor even used the reference back to me. He walked into the room and said, “You have reached the Holy Trinity.” I suppose I should say, the Hem/Onc HT. ha.

Leave a Reply

