Skip to content

Day 18, Delayed Intensification

July 19, 2009

We ventured out. And I hate to say it, but it ended up involving groceries. We tried to just do something for fun, but we couldn’t.

Isa wore hat, mask and gloves. But with the dex forcing her to eat and the chemo making her tired. She wanted to leave before she could do much playing with her new friends. And of course, we had to go grocery shopping.

Brudder is leaving on Tuesday. He’s happy/sad. I never went back and forth between parental homes. To venture a guess, I am thinking that I’d prefer to have both ‘rents under the same dysfunctional roof, rather than have two. (–dysfunctional roofs that is.)

Tomorrow, will be packing him up. Spending time together. Maybe another trip to the grocery, even though we spent the remainder of the grocery budget today. Who knew that 11 year old boys eat so much?  Eat, Eat, Eat, Eat. Is it okay if I have <insert food item here>?

The only problem, besides the extreme fatigue and hunger, that Isa has is a sore bottom. The dexamethasone decreases immunity and the doxo causes gastrointestinal sores. The combo is making for some  very sore bum. We treat it with ointment and hope that she feels better. She has had intermittent bouts of feeling warm. But each time I’ve taken her temperature it is NOT above normal. It feels like a holding pattern.

Who has better outfits, stippers or lawyers?     And comments about the shoes count.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Tara permalink
    July 20, 2009 10:25 pm

    I had a date tonight and chickened out on the hooker shoes. OK,, they weren’t quite hooker shoes butclose! I finally decided since I was wearing something low cut,, and would HAVE to change shoes if walked around downtown after dinner,,,boring old flats would be a better choice. I’m thinking that unless you worked in a firm like Ally McBeal,,and we do know those don’t exsist ,,,, stripper clothes and shoes are more fun.

  2. ALT permalink
    July 20, 2009 1:50 pm

    Also a lawyer, I have to agree that strippers have it much better than lawyers. For that reason, I wear stripper shoes and short skirts whenever possible (not to court, of course). When I actually practiced at a firm I did everything in my power to add some COLOR to the standard black uniform. I also preferred suits with skirts that had a little extra something, like a fun hem. Panty hose suck. Maybe I should have tried the kind held up by a garter, and then I could have felt like I was bringing a little stripper attitude to work everyday. I’m wondering if maybe lawyers who represent strippers have the best of both worlds?

    Sad to hear brudder is leaving . . . .

    • July 20, 2009 6:19 pm

      Love you! Almost replied from Money’s account, and it would have been awkward to say. YES!! you must get a garter. Then your students would be singing that ole Van Halen song. You know the one!!

  3. July 20, 2009 10:27 am

    When we HAVE to take Kayla out we make sure that she has a mask and gloves on. I won’t take her out right now b/c she has had quite a bit of chemo in the last 2 weeks. I am just trying to keep her cool. She is quite obsessive with food right now.

    Oh and I like stripper clothes more. Even though I wouldn’t look too hot in the skimpy little things. And the shoes. kudos to whoever does not break their ankle. 🙂

  4. Quinnsmama permalink
    July 20, 2009 2:48 am

    Ok so I will out myself. I am a lawyer. And let me tell you our outfits suck. Panthose, heels (not ones with water and fish in them), uncomfortable hot suits. Any cool suit cost over a 1,000 bucks. Who the hell has that type of money…strippers do. They make more money than lawyers, and the money is under the table, or under well something else. And when stripper get hot at work and uncomfortable they can wear well …nothing. PLUS, they get to wear colorful sparkely bright outfits. Grey and black is so boring.

Leave a Reply

