Skip to content

Day 15, Delayed Intensification, Outpatient Visit

July 16, 2009

No transfusion today!

Hemoglobin was not within normal range, but not too low. Platelets were fine.

Also, the Nurse Practitioner ordered that the doxorubicin to be run over 30 minutes instead of 10 or 15 to eliminate the flank (side) pain that she experienced last week.

Last week, just as the doxo was finishing Isa grabbed her sides moaning about how it hurt. It came on suddenly and was debilitating. She doubled over and could not stand-up. Quickly, however, it dissipated and she was fine. It is one of those side effects that is considered rare. In fact the veteran doctor had not seen this type of reaction.

Her emotions are bursting forth a little bit more. I wish I had a better understanding of the emotional side effects of these drugs. Tonight at bedtime, lights out, screaming comes from the girls room, so I run in turn on the light and G is holding her eye and Isa is holding her thumb.

It appears that some pinching, poking and biting occurred.

A mere 15 minutes later I found both of them sleeping. Supposedly, Isa wanted to “get cozy” with G., but it was misconstrued as an assault. After telling G. this bit of information, she wanted to cuddle with her sister. Maybe tomorrow night?

I’d really like to insert a table here to show you the blood work range. BUT, I don’t know how.

**Anyone reading this who knows WordPress could send me an email to help me (for free of course). I’d be grateful***

Normal Ranges

  • WBC 5.0 -17.0
  • RBC 4-5.2
  • Hgb 10.2-15.2
  • Platelet 150-450 k/cumm
  • Absolute Neutrophil 1.5 -10.2
  • Abs. Lymphocyte 1.5-11.1
  • Monocytes 2-11

Last Week

  • 8.5
  • 2.93L
  • 9.3L
  • 385
  • 6.3
  • 2.0
  • 1

This Week

  • 2.6L
  • 2.90L
  • 9.4
  • 366
  • 1.2
  • 1.3
  • 5

Notice the BIG drop in WBC , this means that the chemo is killing her white blood cells. When her white blood cells die off her ANC goes down. The ANC, absolute neutrophil count, is the immunity indicator. When it drops below 1.5  (also known as 1500) it is considered below normal.

Today, Isa’s ANC was 1170.

Last week, Isa’s ANC was 6400.

It is still dropping. Remember we are only at Day 15. Each week after chemo, we play “LOW ANC” and we treat her as if it has dropped, because it can happen suddenly. We asked the doctor if we could take her visiting down south and he recommended that we NOT go a-visiting. So, more time at home. WHEEEEEE…

I need to get on the ball with some art projects or make some doll clothes or something. She doesn’t like to go outside and G. doesn’t like to play outside alone. (Brudder is leaving Tuesday for, uh, 46, weeks.)

Thanks for reading, now EVERYONE  leave a random comment about your day. You’d think I wouldn’t get bored with all this excitement, but let me tell you, a nice little random comment about your day would be really nice!

BTW, I know you’re reading. So leave a little randomness please.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Quinn's mama permalink
    July 18, 2009 8:38 pm

    WOW ISA that ANC is great! Quinn was at 80, yes 80 on day 15. So isolation time. Bummer. Yup that makes everyone in the house pretty punchy. (Made Quinn’s mommy and daddy really want to drink wine and beer). We got on ebay bought used kids power tools(fake for play) and built pretend stuff for days. Yes, they are cute little girls, but they can love hammer, and cordless drill sets too. If anyone out there is looking for something cool to send Isa and G think about the home depot tools set or the Melissa and Doug tool set and hammers and balls. It lets the cancer kids pound on stuff to get the angry out. Just a random thought.

    • July 18, 2009 10:28 pm

      Yeah! Send us some tools. Or some night time pull-ups we can use both!

      Isa’s ANC is down from 6400. So it is heading down quickly. We’ll be isolated soon too.

  2. Kathi Nelson Sawyer permalink
    July 18, 2009 7:06 am

    I am enjoying the peace and quiet in the house before our 4 kids wake up. It looks like it’s going to be a cloudy, gloomy day in northeast Ohio, so that means we will most likely be inside today, which also means it won’t be peaceful and quiet in here for long! One of my favorite sounds is the laughter of kids, though…

  3. Tara permalink
    July 17, 2009 10:09 pm

    Today I did some stuff for school. it is starting very soon! I also went down to Jeff to King Fish and had dinner with a friend and her 5 year old son. We walked along the river and found that they had live music going on. Band was good,,, lead singer not so much. He had a nasalie voice and was kind of annoying. Ruined Brown Eyed Girl! I also got in the mail a donation of a gift certificate for a massage to be used when we do the yoga benefit for you all. I am thinking late Aug or early Sept for that. Everyone was just so busy it was hard organizing help this summer!

  4. July 17, 2009 8:28 am

    Isa,

    Today Alyson’s papa went running with our four dogs. Yes! We have four dogs. They are all very big but not scary. They like to sleep a lot. Alyson likes to lie down with them. Anyway, while out running this morning, Alyson’s papa saw a BEAR! A very, very large bear. Bigger than he’s ever seen in the woods or at the zoo. It was a brown bear and bigger than one of our cars. It ran away when it heard the dogs coming down the trail. Alyson’s papa said it was scary to be that close to a bear but that the bear was very beautiful.

    With love to you, your mama, brudder, G and your papa.

    Alyson’s Mommy

  5. July 17, 2009 7:24 am

    My 18 month old loves IKEA. She kept climbing into the beds and pretending to take a nap. What she didn’t do was actually take a nap!

  6. nalene permalink
    July 17, 2009 6:55 am

    My sister and her three daughters are coming over for dinner tonight, chaos! Then, my husband is taking our oldest son to go camping on Saturday, a little bonding time. While their gone, I will be bonding with the little one, just Jack and I 🙂

  7. Natascha Howe permalink
    July 17, 2009 5:06 am

    I’m currently working at a 121 bed nursing home. Which for me has been extremely humbling experience. I am their Human Resource Director and am learning so much about Nurses and CNA’s… I have always believed it takes a special person to be able to clean up someone else – a stranger – not family. I don’t think I could do it.

    I so enjoy your posts. I dont know if I could be as strong as you. You are an awesome person….

    Our prayers and love is sent to you from South Bend!

  8. July 17, 2009 12:50 am

    See, I’ll start.

    My husband hates me staying up until 2 am on the internet reading and writing blogs.

Leave a Reply

