Skip to content

Mask, Gloves, Hat, Day 13, DI

July 14, 2009

We went to the grocery today, well, several groceries. We don’t get out much and shopping for food is our FUN!

Papa can’t get out of the house with just one child, they love him so! I of course can come and go as I please.  So to avoid mass hysteria we all go. No screaming, and two grown-ups. Well, sort of, I don’t really count as a grown-up at the grocery.

When we go, Isa must wear a surgical mask, hat and gloves. Obviously the surgical mask keeps things in and things out. The gloves keep her from touching random stuff, and who wants to put gloves in your mouth, and well, the hat isn’t necessary inside. But you get the idea. She is still required to wash her hands with soap when we get home. Sometimes in the car we use the hand sanitizer stuff.

So far I have NOT noticed anyone staring. Maybe I am used to people staring at me or something? Or maybe people are used to seeing Cancer Kids here?

  • Her appetite is going down.
  • She is fighting sleep, maybe because she’s three?
  • Her lips look pale.
  • None of her fairy hair has started to fall out yet.
  • Her hands and legs aren’t working so well—due to vincristine.

If you read this post, please comment with the number of televisions that your house has, and just for fun let’s throw in computers too.

I will let you know soon how many we have. Keep checking back.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tricia Kaiser permalink
    July 20, 2009 7:36 am

    One TV, no computer.
    peace-tk

  2. July 16, 2009 7:37 pm

    2 tvs, and 2 computers!

  3. July 15, 2009 2:58 pm

    I stare at them.. HA!!! If I see a kid with no hair or whatnot, I want to know what is up! That is what is so funny. I haven’t noticed anyone.

  4. Quinn's mama permalink
    July 15, 2009 2:06 am

    Getting out of the house is always a nice break in the routine. As for TV’s (3) Laptops (2) Computers (1). Number of residents in house 3. Wow that is sad. Oh ya plus one TV in the SUV. Even worse.

    Do you start this week on the DEX again? If so Quinn slept only 3-4 hours a night from day 9-27 in DI. She would have conversations with herself into the baby monitor all night long about food and going poop. We are on day 37 and wishing she would have that energy back. Wishing Isa the best and hoping for sleep for you all.

    -Quinn’s mama

    • July 15, 2009 2:55 pm

      Thanks for the warning. Isa starts Dex again on Thursday. It is so hard to be a spectator in all of this. Hugs to all!

  5. ALT permalink
    July 15, 2009 12:29 am

    We have 3 tvs. We use 1. We have 3 laptops, we use 2. I also email, tweet, facebook, and leave blog comments from my phone, like right at this moment. 3 working cell phones too. xoxo

  6. July 14, 2009 11:51 pm

    We have 3 televisions and 1 computer.

    This post has me wondering if I would stare if I saw a smail child with a mask and surgical gloves…and my answer is YES. I would try not to, but I have never seen this in person before (except for at the hospital). I do not think people stare to be rude, just out of curiosity. I know I would be curious…and also sympathetic. People will always be that way.

Leave a Reply

