Skip to content

Day 12

July 13, 2009

My baby has cancer.

Oddly, I can ignore this fact, by getting involved in the day to day. Making dinner, reading stories, cleaning house, whatever. Then it hits me, my baby has cancer.

Her hands are shaking again. Her legs aren’t following directions as well as they did two weeks ago. She is still cranky from the dex but seems to be  losing a little bit of her appetite.

So we take each day as it comes.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 7:39 pm

    I can completely relate, the other day I was changing Ezra’s diaper, and I welled up with tears. No one wearing a diaper should have cancer….ever…(unless they are Depends)

    • July 16, 2009 10:15 pm

      Those sneaky tears hit you when you least expect it. Then there are times when you want to say, “If that damn cancer doesn’t kill you, then I will!” Yes. I wish I had a better understand of the emotional side effects of the medications. These little people just act on their feelings. Hugs to you.

  2. July 14, 2009 11:44 pm

    For some reason I am drawn to your blog. I hate the fact that you are suffering from going through this. It makes me sick….but a part of me wants to keep reading in hopes you and your sweet Isa makes it through this. I’ve said this before but my prayers are with you. I have been thinking about your family daily wondering what I can do to help families in your situation. Even though I do not have sick children of my own, because of your blog I am envisioning ways to help. I feel close to you and your family just by reading your posts and have been working on ideas to reach out to those in need. You CAN do this and so can your daughter. I hope her appetite for cheerios comes back soon.

    • July 15, 2009 3:02 pm

      Love hearing it! Keep reading, and consider a fundraiser for a local charity or you and your daughter could start one. Even though the big charities and hospitals help cover the medical care expenses, the little charities make day-to-day life better. Check-out the Helping Hands page on the site here, to get some ideas. I guess hair styling won’t help much? ; P

Leave a Reply

