Skip to content

Being a Badass Cancer Survivor

June 26, 2009

Thanks to Mei Mei Loca  for the impetus behind this post. I wrote it eons ago and never published it until tonight.

Feelings range from here to there and everywhere. Especially when using a mood altering drug, DID YOU KNOW THAT CAFFEINE IS THE THIRD MOST USED MOOD ALTERING DRUG.

Being a BadAss Cancer survivor starts TODAY…

My three year old received someone else’s blood today.  The Jehovah’s have this one right.  It is NASTY. It is GROSS.  It is IRRADIATED to kill any CMV (cytomegalovirus, aka common cold). It will save her life. The only reason I know this, is because a Jehovah woman died because she didn’t receive a blood transfusion. I am impressed by this conviction.

Isa has had nightmares all night…

For some reason, I have become obsessed with blood, and with the way hospitals, doctors and the like work.

I know that Isa is only three and perhaps Badass seems an incongruous term to use with one so young, but it seems appropriate for her temperament. Besides, I read a book today where a woman discussed her daughter who RELAPSED eight years after diagnosis.  Yes, you read correctly.  I cannot say enough that yes, the Leukemia kids get better, but some relapse again and again. Even years after they have stopped their treatments.

Isa doesn’t even know what the word survivor is, much less bad ass.  But by my estimations she will definitely be One seriously BADASS cancer survivor in the near future.

This comment from Mei Mei Loca on My Favorite Scar started it all:

scars are tough and cool and good conversation starters. they turn into stories about how badass you are. they impress new boyfriends… or girlfriends.
love to you all, nida mei mei

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 10:53 am

    Stopping over from sits
    YOU GO GIRLS!!!!!
    my prayers go out to you. Every time your baby gets sick or has to get stuck with something I know your heart breaks… I know mine would.
    Just give it to God.
    I will keep you in my prayer life.
    What a strong family you have darling.
    Much love
    Brittany
    http://www.papermoonies.blogspot.com

  2. June 29, 2009 9:11 am

    Scars are bad ass!

Leave a Reply

