Skip to content

Two Days in a Row

May 29, 2009

Yesterday we went to outpatient center for Isa’s chemo. She had great counts, so they upped the dose of Methotrexate. She has tolerated it well so far, plus they give her IV Zofran to keep from having nausea. Luckily so Far so Good.

I was off buying hot toxic beverages [coffee] while she had her port accessed, but Papa said she did well, very little screaming. So she earned a trip to pizza restaurant. It was supposed to be a trip to the dancewear store, but between the four of us there might have only been enough patience to make it to the door. So I will have to find her some special stuff there on my own. Wait, I am a mom, is there any time I ever get alone?

Today we went back to the outpatient center for a shot of Peg-Asparaginase. She has to have it about 24 hours after vincristine. The manufacturers suggest this, because it supposedly increases the toxicity. We had to get her to pee in a hat, plastic of course, not knitted or woven, so the nurses could check her glucose levels. This shot is actually two shots simultaneously in both upper thighs. We applied the numbing cream which I assume takes the sting out. Isa didn’t like this so much. After it was over she crawled into the corner muttering “stupid doctors” under her breath. I suggested to her that it was likely that they were not stupid, but that feeling like they were seemed appropriate. I also told her that if we believed that these treatments were bogus, we wouldn’t do them. Too many kids survive using these protocols for us to think differently. Even though I can understand how someone might grab their kid and run away from being forced to do these treatments.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 7:47 pm

    I’m sorry but I did lol @ “that feeling like they were seemed appropriate” about doctors.

    I felt very much the same way about doctors after I got a shot of some stuff (neupogen) to up my white blood cell counts, but got the shakes and had to swallow two vicoden to kill the pain.

    So right on about feeling that way! But yah its probably for the best but I can imagine being slightly pissed about dual shots in my thighs

    • June 3, 2009 10:10 pm

      I love it when you come to visit. Such a refreshing commenter. or is that Commentor, the emphasis on the ‘or’ said like Marvin Martian from Bugs Bunny. I’ve started a new abbreviation, gol, giggle out loud, because sometimes that is what you do. So if you gave a full hearted laugh, then, you totally got the scene. Yes, it was a tough day for me, especially in light of the Hausers taking flight. The stuff we sign these kids up for is tough, as a adult we can understand why we do it. But a three-year-old just does it because we make them.

  2. Auntie permalink
    May 31, 2009 6:53 pm

    It’s really tough to have to be a good Mommie, isn’t it!!!! Surely it’s tough to be a good doctor too, fortunately, I’ll never experience that. Love Auntie

  3. Tara permalink
    May 29, 2009 10:06 pm

    I often feel like crawling into a corner muttering “stupid doctors”. Just sady that is not acceptable for adults,, kids and their honesty just rock!

Leave a Reply

