Skip to content

Roll out the Wagon

May 3, 2009

 

The plaque on the back of the wagon.

Back of Wagon

As I slung the heavy stroller from the back of the environmentally unsound vehicle, I noticed a familiar face across the street.  After loading up all my snacks (for our dinner picnic) and my kids, we traipsed across the street to pick up a few more bits for our dinner. In a small town one may recognize many people throughout the day. The trick is learning when and where to approach people. Being from a small town I have grown accustomed to people staring at me, or my outfits, presumably, but this day, in what my husband calls my “house pants,” meaning that I shouldn’t leave the house in them, my leopard “Isa Hat” and and ratty old stroller with a mask bearing child aboard. Today was no different. 

 

Obviously noticing me  (as if she’d had a choice. Did I mention I also wore a bright pink jacket?) She approached me. Uh-oh did I cuss too loudly as I hauled that lumbering metal wheeled gurney out?  No,  I was intercepted by Ms. Mires, the years in New Mexico have warped my pronunciation of her name, the principal of the school where G. attended pre-school.

She gave me some of the best news I’ve heard in a long time! And little does she know, but it was news that made my eyes tear a little.

The children at the school raised enough money to get a wagon donated in honor of ISA and in memory of Mark. Thanks to the astute blog reading pre-school teacher who got things rolling, so to speak.  

This means so much to me. Thanks kids!  And all the families hauling stuff from the front door to their rooms or from the rooms to the front door appreciate it.  Or more importantly carrying kids around.

Thanks again!  I expect pictures will be following.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 1:31 am

    I cannot imagine what you are going through. You sure do sound like a strong mommy. I wish you the most beautiful mothers day ever. Your little angel and your entire family are now a part of my nightly prayers. God bless you and your family.
    Mrs. Maricela Kindle

  2. May 4, 2009 11:48 pm

    Hi…Reading your blog is helpful and encouraging. My cousin’s little girl was just diagnosed last week with ALL and beginning the chemo fight. It is nice to read blogs like yours and know they aren’t alone. We made them a blog too to keep people updated and to ask for prayer. Praying for your little beauty too. Thanks

    • May 5, 2009 7:22 pm

      I don’t envy your cousins position. Good luck to her. The hospital staff will consistently remind you that each child is different. Every day it can be something new. One of my main reasons for writing was to let other people know what our experience was like. I am not the sort of person to go to a group meeting, so I have found other sites helpful. I have trouble imagining my blog as being encouraging. Pay attention, keep a journal and remember to enjoy the moment as much as possible. Kids with cancer are still kids, and they find the energy to enjoy life.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    May 4, 2009 7:18 am

    That is awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

