Skip to content

Tired Baby

March 16, 2009

 

She hasn't fallen asleep in my arms since she was a baby.

She hasn't fallen asleep in my arms since she was a baby.

Most of the past few  nights Isa was coughing. I have no idea what she has, but on Thursday, she will have been sniffling and coughing for about three weeks. I’ve watched her temperatures. Both up and down, yesterday she was shaking because she was so cold. Luckily it wasn’t a “i’ve got a fever” shake, which according to the doctors doesn’t go away. For example, if I hold her with a blanket she gets warm and no more shaking. Guess we need to turn up the heat? 

 

Her counts as of last Thursday were ANC 2900, WBC 4.5.   Maybe those mean nothing without the ranges, but it seems pretty good. Every child is different and these numbers can change when the medication changes.

She has been complaining about random pains, mostly in her stomach. Some in her muscles, I am wondering if that is from the PEG. I need to look that one up a little bit more before I post on it. She has had such a small appetite, that she hasn’t been eating much. She says that things don’t taste very good. I wonder if  a plastic spoon would help with that. Supposedly, chemo can make things taste metallic. 

We’ve tried to get fluids into her in tiny, actually a better description would be, teeny tiny sips. Ultimately she is drinking around 12 ounces a day.  Not enough. 

From what I’ve read CANCER LOVES SUGAR… and CANCER HATES OXYGEN.  We’ve been looking into ways of cutting out all sugar. This is quite difficult considering that there is high fructose corn syrup in so many things. Every holiday or grandparent visit usually includes some amount of sugar as well.  As we change her diet, perhaps she will have a bit more energy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa permalink
    November 16, 2010 5:50 pm

    I know this is old by have you tried food grade hydrogen peroxide?

  2. March 17, 2009 9:27 am

    Poor little booger. She looks so sweet in that picture. It’s nice that she can fall asleep in mommy’s arms – that’s a good place to rest while you heal.

  3. Natascha permalink
    March 17, 2009 5:50 am

    I’m not sure if this will help or not, my neice didn’t eat solids for one year. What kept her alive, Ensure. And like I said I dont know if Isa can have that or not. Also, for hydration, can she drink PowerAid – that has vitamins and keeps her hydrated as well – not sure on the sugar content…. Watered down non-sugar orange juice?? Can she take baby vitamins – so it doesn’t affect her immune system???

    Thanks for the update!

    • March 17, 2009 12:10 pm

      Interesting comment, but perhaps to clarify, Isa is eating solids, and drinking fluids. She prefers water, which is BEST for her at this point. The methotrexate that she receives in her spinal taps, has an antidote, folic acid. Therefore, I’ve been keeping her off the vitamins for the most part. She already gets folic acid in some of the food she eats. And, I am not exactly sure what you mean by non-sugar orange juice, as fructose is a main component of fruit juice.

  4. Jo Ash permalink
    March 17, 2009 1:30 am

    This one got to me more than any of the others.

    Again, I am so very sorry you have to go through this. I look at my problems and others problems and think oh how small compared to this. You both are doing great. You are great parents and we are proud of you. If you can do this you can leap over tall buildings. He He We love all four of you so very much.

Leave a Reply

