Skip to content

Dust in the wind….

March 9, 2009

Addendum:  This post is sticky to encourage donations to the dust removal fund. Without help from the outside these will not be cleaned. 

Or in the ducts, as the case may be.

Recently we moved into a “new” home—of course this house was built in the mid-to-late forties. We’ve been busily trying to get our lives back to normal. As I have busied myself with putting things away, I keep noticing a lot of dust. Today, I decided to attack the return air ducts with the vacuum. Let’s say that I lost the battle.

It’s a damn good thing I’m not a cat, otherwise I’d have been dead long ago. I stuck my head down into the vent and nearly whacked myself on the occiput as I yanked myself upright—all while yelling for Money, my husband. “Take a look at this.” I said, barely able to get the words out, practically just pointing at the whole in the floor. He tells me, “I already cleaned that.”

“WHAT>>>>>>>put your head in there.”

Those who know me, know I have a tendency to not only be dramatic, but also to yell.

Looks like a call to the duct cleaner-outers!

Each person in the family has had a tingle in their nose or a cough. I have listened to Isa coughing, especially at night for a bit. It is possible that she has a cold. Her temperatures are below the danger zone. So, I have let it be. We will be discussing dust with Dr. Fallon on Thursday.

"What the hell is the thing in the middle of the picture?"

"What the hell is the thing in the middle of the picture?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, that is a large pile of Mite Poop.

Yes, ladies and gentlemen, that is a large pile of Mite Poop.

 

You can see where the end of the vacuum reached. See that line where the dust isn’t quite so high?  That is as far as I could reach. We have considered getting these ducts cleaned out. Normally we’d not even consider paying for it, but with Isa’s fragility, we might.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2009 9:48 am

    I hope you find someone who will donate their services for you! I am too afraid to look in mine…

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog yesterday!

    • April 9, 2009 3:50 pm

      I know, I’ve made it priority. Once I get them done that post stop being sticky!! Keep coming back.

  2. April 7, 2009 6:47 pm

    Wow! I hope that you can get that cleaned out! I shudder to think what ours look like!

  3. frowningcatsmiling permalink
    March 17, 2009 9:19 am

    Have you found anyone yet?

  4. Ann Morgan permalink
    March 15, 2009 6:35 pm

    I’ll work on that –

  5. Ann Morgan permalink
    March 11, 2009 2:44 pm

    Wow – that is eerie and scary! We had our ducts cleaned out professionally this year (1st time for only a 10 yo house)…it was money very well spent as i have no more asthma symptoms and my kiddos have been very healthy this year. I think it cost us $280, and they did a fantastic job. I highly recommend doing this at least every couple years. A vacuum, no matter how fancy, will not do this.

    • March 11, 2009 2:50 pm

      Thanks for the info, good to hear that someone else had good results. The internet research turned in a mixed review.

  6. Natascha permalink
    March 11, 2009 3:41 am

    Wow. Lots of yuck there…. Once they clean it out, how often do you need to have that done again? And, what kind of vacuum cleaner are you using? I have the Rainbow- its water based, which means the dirt goes into the water and only clean air comes out. Much cleaner for the asthma breathers – we have 3 of those in our home…

    Thanks for the photos. Looks like spring cleaning came early this year…

    • March 11, 2009 2:49 pm

      Ha Ha. I am not paying to clean these things out. Someone here in town will do it for free. I just have to find them. Perhaps someone would like to find them for me? hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

