Skip to content

First Outpatient Chemo Tomorrow

January 22, 2009

Because this is still new, everything is a little nerve-wracking. We have a lumbar puncture tomorrow, a sack of Vincristine. Then what?  I have no idea how she will react. Last time, she had just had surgery. I just have no idea, what to expect.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Colin Robinson permalink
    February 3, 2009 5:38 pm

    Looks like things are going along relatively smoothly for y’all. The picture of the short haired girls is so cute, I just know these hospital visits and chemo and spinal taps will be a distant memory for you and impossible to reccolect for the Isa, Your doing great! Love Colin

  2. Kathi Nelson Sawyer permalink
    January 26, 2009 1:36 pm

    HI there! Tara sent me your link and I have been following your updates. You have all been in my thoughts & prayers and will continue to be! My 5 yr old niece, Morgan Lane, was diagnosed w/ neruoblastoma (cancer) when she was 11 mo. old (in 2004). It was a shock to everyone and was one of the scariest things our family has been through. She is a fighter though, went thru awful chemo treatments & surgeries (also at Riley), but you would never know it looking at her today. Like Isa, Dr. Kumar was also one of her many doctors. Riley is an awesome place! Isa is in the best hands with the doctors & staff there!

  3. stephanie permalink
    January 24, 2009 9:32 am

    well, I can tell ya…mine sure works wonders for me! I have several fellow students in grad school who are getting their LPC in pediatric settings and they keep me busy. Between them and the mom play groups I can’t keep the capes in stock! 🙂

  4. Jo Ash permalink
    January 24, 2009 9:00 am

    What a great idea Stephanie!

  5. stephanie permalink
    January 23, 2009 8:44 pm

    I’ve just made a good day/bad day reversible cape for her. I am mailing it to your dad’s house unless I get a hotel address before tomorrow. These have been pretty good for play therapy. If she likes it and wants more then you email, facebook or call me and I will drop everything.

    There is also one for Gigi cause there is good energy in numbers! Mom and Papa’s capes will be forthcoming next week, along with some super cool hats and mask-hats!

    I love you dear. You were always so much stronger and braver than me.

  6. christine arthur permalink
    January 23, 2009 12:21 am

    Hope that it goes smoothly. Good to know she is getting what she needs for treatment. She is very lucky. The staff at Riley are experts in what they do, so she couldn’t be in better hands. Give her plenty of distractions and maybe do some positive visualizations of her enduring the procedures in a positive way. I wonder if there are any books written for kids to help them deal with these types of things? I’ll look online to see.

Leave a Reply

