Skip to content

Oh a goodnight sleep for Papa at the Hospital

January 19, 2009

By Papa:  The first three nights at the hospital were rough.   By Saturday, I was shaky, dizzy and confused (no I am not always like that).  That night, I got a good nights sleep at a relatives house while Mama stayed with Isa.  Mama actually got some sleep that night also unlike my previous experience trying to sleep in the hospital.  Last night in the hospital was quiet and calm.  Isa had some chucks under the sheets and two large diapers spread out in the bed under her bottom (she refuses to wear a diaper).  I woke up once to change the diaper pads and by morning when the nurses came in to do their blood work, temperature and blood pressure thing I was well rested.

Wednesday night I was up and down taking Isa to the bathroom.  The baby who shares the room with us arrived at midnight and did not calm down till about two.  Even though I was fresh, the night took its toll. 

Thursday night was really bad, I got no sleep.  The baby who shares the room with us needed an IV.  The nurses tried and tried and tried to get an IV in her.  Poor thing was treated like pin cushion.  They tried several times through out the night.  Needless to say…the baby was not happy at any of  failed attempts.  

Friday night I was a mess.  I hadn’t taken a nap nor slept well since tuesday.  At about two in the morning Isa wet her bed. The nurse started removing the soaked chucks under her.  Isa, being wet, tired and newly awoken, was not happy.  Being awoken from my deep sleep of a couple of hours, jumped out of bed, grabbed Isa and held her while the nurse attempted to change the wet sheets.  I stood up too fast.  My head began to spin.  Looking and the half made bed I said, “you better hurry up!”  I looked away to the corner and the next thing I remember the nurse was yelling and me, “Sir, Sir, Wake up Sir.  Are you okay?”  She was not happy with me.  I drank a little OJ and felt much better.  I remembered to wake up before standing for the rest the stay in the hospital.

Soon, hopefully Isa will be leaving the hospital.  Besides all the fears about being on our own with a very sick girl, it will be good to be out of here.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane (Potter) Drozdowski permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:21 pm

    I’m still praying for you. Please let your wife know she is very articulate and an amazing writer (as are you). I feel like I’m living through this with you. Never forget that God’s hand is always on your shoulder.

    With love,
    Diane (Potter) Drozdowski

  2. stephanie permalink
    January 24, 2009 9:39 am

    I am so sorry this is happening to all of you. Kudos for being so strong and being smart enough to know you need to take of yourself too. God bless.

Leave a Reply

