Skip to content

The Wagons

January 16, 2009
The plaque on the back of the wagon.

The plaque on the back of the wagon.

For those of you who are interested, the Red Wagons rock. The amount of stuff to carry is overwhelming for a 5 day hospital stay. Not to mention the children. They are life savers. And they are impossibly difficult to find when you arrive at 11:00 with groceries and a 4 year old in sub-freezing weather.

excerpt from The Magic Button

With the blue suited woman pulling the wagon, Papa & G walking in front, I followed behind watching as Isa snuggled down. As I looked down at wagon number 651, I read the plaque attached to it. “In honor of Caden Gidience”  I choked backed tears, wondering whether he made it out alive, or if as I read his name, I called his spirit to walk with us to surgery.

So, via the comments section below please nominate someone to collect money for a wagon. I want the plaque to read, “In honor of Isa & Mark.”  Obviously Isa is here now, but Mark, my husband’s younger brother, was here, in this same hospital, 30 years ago. Unfortunately Mark suffered with rhabdomyosarcoma and passed away September 22, 1979. His cancer was quite different from Isa’s leukemia which boasts a 90% cure rate.

I do not need to be researching how to do this. Someone else figure it out. BUT do it, do it,

DO IT!

UPDATE:  T found out that the wagons are 500.00. I still want to raise the money for one, and Papa says Forget it.  So there you have it. Make you own decisions.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:13 pm

    count me in. tara, contact me via facebook.

  2. Tara permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:48 pm

    They finally emailed me about the wagons. We would still like to do it at some point but I am thinking they probably need money more for expenses than for the wagon. We will work on wagon after all their needs are taken care of and I will keep you posted.

  3. Tara permalink
    January 17, 2009 8:30 pm

    I will post as soon as I know something. We may put up a link to pay pal or I will have you send it to me if I can’t get that to work. I am hoping to know something by the first of the week.

  4. Deanna Blair permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:38 pm

    Tara – I would like to contribute as well – feel free email me with any info. Also, I can help with organizing efforts if you need any help.

    dblair@longwell-law.com

  5. Merrick (Horton) Bartlett permalink
    January 17, 2009 5:16 am

    I’ll be happy to give as well…Tara-you know how to get in touch with me. Let me know if you need anything.

  6. Jo Ash permalink
    January 17, 2009 12:02 am

    Hi Tara:

    I will be happy to give money for the red wagon.

    Just let me know what you need.

  7. Jo Ash permalink
    January 16, 2009 11:47 pm

    This has been deleted…… by the author.

    ME: (teenage whiney voice) Don’t put my phone number on the blog.

  8. Tara permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:10 pm

    I am researching. I will post info that I find out. If I can make it happen I will collect money and get it done.

    I don’t seem to have your cell number and I know you are swamped at the moment. Call me if you need to chat or need some non-hospital chat. 941-223-2438

    Also heard from someone that works with a lot of kids that your doc is wonderful. Rave reviews! Have you let the people at Pope John know? If not I can give them a call for you.

Leave a Reply

