Skip to content

First Days

January 16, 2009

Newly Diagnosed Leukemia

God, I wish I could describe how I feel. Both my husband and a good friend described it like getting hit in the stomach. Both  have aptly given the emotion a feeling. So those of you who really want to know what being in our shoes is like follow these steps.

Find a strong man, ask him to punch you just below the belly button. Then try not to cry…

That is exactly how it feels.

I am alternating between being upbeat, and knowing that we are doing all we can, and periodically just breaking out into tears. More like sobs actually.

I feel nauseated. I feel numb. I feel like I have never felt before.

My thoughts right now are to just add to this when I can, and hopefully keep as many people up to date as possible without having to tell everyone. As much as I love my friends and family, repeating this information is sucking ass.

Please if you have not contacted me in a while. Feel free to call, but just don’t expect me to talk for a long time.  If I haven’t talked to you in like a really long time,  leave a comment, and I’ll give you a new phone number.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. stephanie permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:25 pm

    I just found out about this. I can’t stop sobbing, I can’t express how much I wish I could be there for you to yell at, or cry on, or laugh with. Please call me if you want 804-745-4628 or email me a number and I will call you. Or if you want I’ll come home, my husband can cook his own meals for awhile! I can’t stand this, I’m raging for you. You seem so together and I just want to rage for you.

    Anything I write seems so stupid. I’m sorry and I miss you terribly.

    Steph

  2. "Aunt" Wanda permalink
    January 17, 2009 7:06 pm

    I’m one who hasn’t talked to you in a very long time but thought of you and our conversations often.

    I regret our coming together for such horribly sad news.

    The prognosis for Isa’s leukemia from all the information I have gathered sounds great. The journey is rough.

    Anything, just ask.

    Love and prayers

  3. Jo Ash permalink
    January 17, 2009 5:51 pm

    Pappy, Gran and Deanna are right there with you. Deanna has been so great, calling and praying.

    We too, cannot describe our pain.

    We all love you guys!!

Leave a Reply

